Decisions

What do AI writing tools really cost?

Seven AI writing tools and three general assistants, priced for the way you'd use them: the cheapest way in, writing without a word cap, or a team of three. They count usage in words, credits or rewrites, so pick what you need.

Last checked: 1 Nov 2026 · every price read off the vendor's own page, monthly billing · no affiliate links

The cheapest plan for each kind of use, month to month, in pounds; dollar prices converted at the ECB rate.
Entry plan
cheaper → dearer, per month

The short answer

Cheapest way in: a general assistant. Google AI Plus is £4.49 a month and ChatGPT Go £7. The cheapest dedicated writing tool is Rytr at $9 (about £6.72).

Unlimited writing: ChatGPT Go at £7 a month says text chats are unlimited. Among writing tools, Rytr ($9) and NovelAI ($10, for fiction) are unlimited; Jasper Pro is $69 and doesn't meter ordinary writing. Claude and Google state usage limits rather than unlimited.

A team of three: Copy.ai's $29 Chat plan includes 5 seats. ChatGPT Business is £54 for 3 seats, Claude Team $75, Anyword Data-Driven $99. Jasper's team plan is a custom quote.

Several pages open on the yearly price. Sudowrite shows $10 a month (monthly billing is $19), Wordtune $9.99 ($19.99), Claude $17 ($20), Jasper $59 ($69). Every figure here is the monthly-billing price.

For fiction: Sudowrite sells credits ($19 a month for 225,000), while NovelAI is unlimited text from $10.

The old category has split up. Writesonic now sells tracking of how brands appear in AI answers ($99 a month and up), Copy.ai sells a sales-and-marketing platform, and Hypotenuse only quotes custom prices.

When the cheapest is not the answer

Who made this page

An AI agent read each tool's pricing page in a real browser, switched it to monthly billing, and copied the sentence behind every figure; code checked each sentence was really on the page before it could be used. This page replaces an older list of AI writing tools on this site. Disclosure: this page was researched with one of the tools it lists (Claude); it is priced the same way as the others.

There are no affiliate links on this page. If that changes, each paid link will be marked (Ad), with a plain link beside it, and the order will stay what it is: by price, nothing else.

How the numbers are worked out

monthly cost = the cheapest plan for that kind of use (entry; unlimited by the vendor's own words; three self-serve seats), billed monthly

ToolEntry planUnlimited writingTeam of 3
Jaspermarketing platform; Pro is one seat£51.50Pro, 1 seat · $69.00£51.50Pro (ordinary writing not credit-metered) · $69.00no planBusiness, custom pricing
Copy.aiChat plan includes 5 seats£21.64Chat, 5 seats · $29.00£21.64Chat · $29.00£21.64Chat, 5 seats · $29.00
Rytrunlimited on Lite£6.72Lite · $9.00£6.72Lite · $9.00no planno team plan published
Sudowritefiction; every plan is credit-metered£14.18Hobby & Student, 225,000 credits · $19.00no plannone: every plan is credit-meteredno planno team plan published
NovelAIfiction; unlimited text on every tier£7.46Tablet · $10.00£7.46Tablet · $10.00no planno team plan published
Wordtunerewriting; Advanced is 30 rewrites a day£10.44Advanced, 30 rewrites a day · $13.99£14.92Unlimited · $19.99no planno team price published
Anywordmarketing copy with performance scores£36.57Starter, 1 seat · $49.00£36.57Starter · $49.00£73.89Data-Driven, 3 seats · $99.00
ChatGPTgeneral assistant; Go may include ads£7.00Go£7.00Go (unlimited text chats; Plus £20 for advanced models)£54.00Business, 3 Standard seats at £18
Claudegeneral assistant; usage limits on every plan£14.93Pro · $20.00no plannone: usage limits on every plan£55.97Team, 3 Standard seats at $25 · $75.00
Google AI (Gemini)general assistant; AI Pro is £18.99£4.49Google AI Plusno plannone: Google states higher limits, not unlimitedno plannot offered (family sharing only; business use is Google Workspace)

Each figure is the plan named under it, with the vendor's own currency where it isn't pounds. "No plan" means no published price at that size.

Exchange rates. ECB euro reference rates of 30 October 2026: 1 EUR = 0.83380 GBP, 1 EUR = 1.1172 USD, so 1 USD = 0.74633 GBP.

Left out: Writesonic — Pivoted to AI-search visibility (GEO) tracking; plans are sold on prompts tracked, with 15-50 AI articles a month. Monthly prices: Starter $99, Basic $249, Growth $499 (annual $79/$199/$399).; Hypotenuse AI — No published prices: both plans (Basic, Ecommerce Enterprise) say 'Custom'; now aimed at ecommerce product content.; QuillBot — BLOCKED: monthly price not readable. The page opens on 'Pay annually 58% off'; the switch would not turn off because a Cloudflare 'Verify you are human' overlay sits on the page (not bypassed). The annual figure itself differed between loads (£8.33 then £9.95 per month, billed annually).; Grammarly (Pro) — UNVERIFIABLE: plans page shows Pro as '£10 GBP' (struck through, 'Try for free') with no billing period and no monthly/annual control; plan selection is behind sign-in. A struck-through price with no period can't be reported as a monthly price.; Microsoft Copilot Pro — Discontinued as a standalone plan: the en-GB Copilot Pro page is 404. Copilot now comes inside Microsoft 365: Personal £8.49/month, Premium £18.99/month (paid monthly), bundled with Office and storage, so not comparable..

If you'll recommend one: what each pays you

From each tool's own affiliate page. Jasper, Copy.ai, Rytr, Wordtune, Anyword, NovelAI and the general assistants publish no affiliate programme; Grammarly, QuillBot and Writesonic do, though they aren't in the price table above. This plays no part in the order.

PlatformCommissionCookie
Sudowrite25% of every subscription payment for the referral's first yearnot stated
GrammarlyNot published: pays per account sign-up and per purchase (two qualified actions), amounts not stated90 days
QuillBotUp to 20%, up to $20 per subscriber30 days
Writesonic20% of every payment for up to 12 months60 days
Month-to-month list prices for each platform's named plan, read off the vendor's own pricing page on 1 November 2026 with monthly billing selected — several of these pages default to yearly prices, which are lower. Verify before you buy: Jasper · Copy.ai · Rytr · Sudowrite · NovelAI · Wordtune · Anyword · ChatGPT · Claude · Google AI (Gemini).

There are no affiliate links on this page. The research is done by AI agents reading each vendor's own pricing pages. Product names and logos are trademarks of their owners, used only to identify the products compared. No analytics cookies, no tracking scripts, no third-party requests. A personal project, separate from the author's day job.