Decisions

What do AI image and video upscalers really cost?

Eleven upscalers for photos and video, priced for how much you'd use them. Some charge per image, some a flat monthly fee, some run free on your own computer — so pick your volume.

Last checked: 1 Nov 2026 · every price read off the vendor's own page, monthly billing · no affiliate links

The cheapest plan for each kind of use, month to month, in pounds; dollar prices converted at the ECB rate.
About 100 images a month
cheaper → dearer, per month

The short answer

Free, if you have the computer for it: Upscayl is a free, open-source desktop app, so any volume costs nothing on your own machine. waifu2x is a free web tool for small images (input up to 1500px).

At about 1,000 images a month, flat-rate plans win: Icons8 $6.50 (about 1,111 upscales), Pixelcut $10 ("Unlimited Upscale"), Topaz for Web $12, Upscale.media £17.99 for 1,000 credits. Credit plans cost far more at that volume: Let's Enhance $72, Magnific £78.

Video is mostly desktop software. An hour a month costs $39.95 (AVCLabs), $53.99 (HitPaw, list price) or $59 (Topaz Video), each processing on your own computer.

Buying once is still possible, but not from Topaz: it now sells only subscriptions. One-off licences remain at UniFab ($84.99 lifetime, video), VanceAI ($129.90, images), AVCLabs ($149.90, video) and HitPaw ($437.99 list, video).

Several pages lead with the yearly price. Let's Enhance shows $9 with "$12/month if billed monthly" in small print; Pixelcut shows $8 against $10 monthly. Every figure here is the monthly-billing price.

Prepaid, not monthly: Bigjpg sells passes instead of a subscription: $6 for two months at 500 images a month.

When the cheapest is not the answer

Who made this page

An AI agent read each tool's pricing page in a real browser, switched it to monthly billing, and copied the sentence behind every figure; code checked each sentence was really on the page before it could be used. This page replaces two older lists of upscalers on this site.

There are no affiliate links on this page. If that changes, each paid link will be marked (Ad), with a plain link beside it, and the order will stay what it is: by price, nothing else.

How the numbers are worked out

monthly cost = the cheapest monthly plan that covers that volume at the vendor's own stated rate per upscale, billed monthly

ToolAbout 100 images a monthAbout 1,000 images a monthAn hour of video a month
Topaz Labsunlimited in the browser; video is a desktop app£8.96Topaz for Web - Image (browser, unlimited cloud) · $12.00£8.96Topaz for Web - Image (browser, unlimited cloud) · $12.00£44.03Topaz Video (Mac/PC desktop, unlimited local rendering) · $59.00
Let's Enhancecredits: 1 image each£8.96Starter, 100 credits · $12.00£53.74Business 1000 credits · $72.00no planno plan
Upscale.mediacredits; shown in pounds£8.99Subscription, 200 credits£17.99Subscription, 1000 creditsno planno plan
VanceAIweb credits, or a Windows app at 1,000£14.93Starter, 260 credits (4x upscale = 2 credits) · $20.00£29.78VanceAI for PC, 1 month (Windows, unlimited local processing) · $39.90no planno plan
PixelcutPro says "Unlimited Upscale"£7.46Pro · $10.00£7.46Pro ('Unlimited Upscale') · $10.00no planno plan
Icons8 Smart Upscaler10k AI credits, 9 per upscale£4.85Only AI tools (10k AI credits; upscale = 9 credits, about 1,111 a month) · $6.50£4.85Only AI tools (10k AI credits = about 1,111 upscales) · $6.50no planno plan
Upscaylfree, open source, runs on your computerfreeUpscayl Desktop (free, open source) · $0.00freeUpscayl Desktop (free, open source) · $0.00no planno plan
waifu2xfree web tool; input up to 1500pxfreeFree web tool · $0.00freeFree web tool · $0.00no planno plan
Magnificcredits; Freepik rebranded£14.00Premium (20K credits = 222 Magnific Precision 2K upscales)£78.00Pro Starter (112.5K credits = 1,250 upscales)no planno plan
AVCLabsdesktop apps, processed locally£14.89Photo Enhancer AI, 1-month (desktop) · $19.95£14.89Photo Enhancer AI, 1-month (desktop) · $19.95£29.82Video Enhancer AI, 1-month plan (desktop) · $39.95
HitPawdesktop apps; list price, not the offer£20.89FotorPea, 1 Month License (Windows) · $27.99£20.89FotorPea, 1 Month License ('Enhance photos in bulk without limits') · $27.99£40.29VikPea, 1 Month License (Windows) · $53.99

Each figure is the plan named under it, with the vendor's own currency where it isn't pounds. "No plan" means no published price at that size.

Exchange rates. ECB euro reference rates of 30 October 2026: 1 EUR = 0.83380 GBP, 1 EUR = 1.1172 USD, so 1 USD = 0.74633 GBP.

Left out: Krea (Enhancer) — The upscaler is one feature of a generation suite priced in 'compute units'; the pricing page never says how many units an upscale uses, so no tier can be mapped. Monthly: Basic $9 (5,000 units), Pro $35 (20,000), Max $105 (60,000). Card prices render outside the page text; figures from the page's own comparison table.; Remini — No public web pricing: remini.ai/pricing returns a 'page doesn't exist' error and the site redirects to a sign-up web app; prices are in-app only.; Adobe (Photoshop Super Resolution / Firefly) — Not priced as a standalone upscaler: Super Resolution comes inside Photoshop/Lightroom plans, and the UK plans page shows only 'Annual, billed monthly' prices (Photoshop £21.98/mo) with no month-to-month option on the default view.; Bigjpg — prepaid passes only, no monthly plan (see findings); UniFab — lifetime licence only, no monthly plan (see findings).

If you'll recommend one: what each pays you

From each tool's own affiliate page. VanceAI, Icons8, Bigjpg, Upscayl and waifu2x publish no affiliate programme. This plays no part in the order.

PlatformCommissionCookie
Topaz Labs20% of orders through your link30 days
Let's Enhance20% recurring, for as long as the customer stays60 days
Upscale.media (Pixelbin)Up to 30% (page also says 20% recurring for up to 12 months)30 days
Magnific10% of the referral's first subscription paymentnot stated
Pixelcut30% of every payment in the referral's first year60 days
AVCLabsUp to 40% of monthly salesnot stated
HitPawUp to 60%, first billing cycle only120 days
UniFabGenerally 30% per sale, up to 40%not stated
Month-to-month list prices for each platform's named plan, read off the vendor's own pricing page on 1 November 2026 with monthly billing selected — several of these pages default to yearly prices, which are lower. Verify before you buy: Topaz Labs · Let's Enhance · Upscale.media · VanceAI · Pixelcut · Icons8 Smart Upscaler · Upscayl · waifu2x · Magnific · AVCLabs · HitPaw.

There are no affiliate links on this page. The research is done by AI agents reading each vendor's own pricing pages. Product names and logos are trademarks of their owners, used only to identify the products compared. No analytics cookies, no tracking scripts, no third-party requests. A personal project, separate from the author's day job.